UK: Krispy Kreme proud to announce their doughnuts are Halal-certified

| 10/01/2012 | 1 Reply

Yakima Healthy Foods Examiner

Krispy Kreme, though there is no change to their product, has recently had 16 doughnut varieties certified by the Halal Food Authority.

UK product development manager Lucy Allard commented,

“Although our doughnuts have always been suitable for a Halal diet, we know the certification means a lot to many of our ­customers.”

A campaign to advertise their new gimmick will be launched with on-counter displays of the HFA logo.

Why are Krispy Kreme doughnuts acceptable to Muslims?

There was some controversy a while back as to whether or not their doughnut glaze contained alcohol.  Krispy Kreme responded:

“Krispy Kreme doughnuts do not contain alcohol products manufactured to be consumed as a beverage, such as liquors, wine and beer. The glaze on Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnuts contains a specially produced flavouring that is made and approved for use according to strict FDA guidelines. This flavouring contains a small amount of ethyl alcohol, a common ingredient that, incidentally, is also naturally present in just about all fresh fruits and vegetables. The flavouring for Krispy Kreme’s glaze contains less than 2 percent ethyl alcohol, an essential ingredient for many flavourings commonly used in commercial food production. By contrast, vanilla flavouring, an ingredient widely used in many foods, such as ice cream, cakes, cookies, even animal crackers for children, contains 35 percent ethyl alcohol. It is important to note, however, that when the flavouring is mixed into the glaze recipe, it becomes less than 1 percent of the total composition, and, therefore, the ethyl alcohol content drops to less than 0.02 percent. During the cooking of the glaze, virtually all, if not all, of the ethyl alcohol is lost through evaporation.” (Source)

United States

Brian K. Little, Director of Corporate Communications at Krispy Kreme, makes it clear that their shops in the U.S. do not carry products that are Halal certified.

Krispy Kreme also claims that all of their doughnuts are Kosher as well.

Tags:

Category: Europe, Food Manufacturing, Halal Integrity, Ingredients, UK

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. arfana says:

    What I don’t seem to understand is how krispy kreme are suitabale for muslims. Even in this article above it is said that it the ethynol alcohol reduces to 0.02 or less but even that 0.02 or even less is not permissable because for muslims alcohol is not allowed at all.

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This