Turkey: D8 members to discuss joint projects

Industry ministers from a group of eight developing countries (D8) will discuss joint projects among the member states in an upcoming meeting in Turkey’s Istanbul.

The second meeting of industry ministers of D8 will be held in the city on Oct. 4-5, 2011.

Participants will discuss jointly manufacturing a car, adopting policies on energy and environmental issues, observing food standard — halal food in particular — and joint petrochemical plans, IRNA reported on Sunday.

The meeting will also seek to increase current potentials and raising the trade of steel in the group.

Earlier, Turkey’s foreign ministry announced that four members of D8 — comprising Iran, Turkey, Nigeria and Malaysia — have enforced preferential tariffs in their trade.

The preferential tariffs were put into effect on August 25, following the ratification of a preferential trade agreement between the four members of D8, a statement by the Turkish foreign ministry read.

The first meeting of the industry ministers of the D8 was held in Tehran on March 2, 2010.

Iran, Turkey, Malaysia, Pakistan, Nigeria, Egypt, Bangladesh and Indonesia are D8 members.