UK: Are Skittles vegan, vegetarian or halal?

| 04/11/2017 | Reply

The world of sweets is an absolute minefield for vegetarians, vegans and those with a halal diet.

There can be all sorts of hidden, animal-based nightmares in places you would least expect to find them and knowing what you can eat is very tricky.

So, what about one of our favourite sweets? Skittles has been a delightfully sugary, sweet and tangy snack for years, but can we eat them?

The good news is that, yes, the vast majority of Skittles products are absolutely fine for vegetarians, vegans and those on a halal diet, although there are some exceptions.

The Limited Edition ‘Once in a blue moon’ Skittles are not suitable for vegetarians, vegans or those practising halal and the Wild Berry flavour is also non-halal.

Wrigley, who produce Skittles, also state that: ‘Previous formula of Skittles: Original Fruit, Wild Berry, Confused and Sours (Please be aware that there might still be product in the market that is not suitable though so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’)’

Skittles removed E120 cochineal which is the name of the colour pigment obtained from the insect Dactylopius coccus.

Skittles Fruits ingredients

As shown currently on the website: SUGAR, GLUCOSE SYRUP, PALM FAT, ACIDS CITRIC ACID, MALIC ACID, DEXTRIN, MALTODEXTRIN, FLAVOURINGS, COLOURS E162, E171, E100, E160A, E132, E133, E163, E160E, MODIFIED STARCH, ACIDITY REGULATOR TRISODIUM CITRATE, GLAZING AGENT CARNAUBA WAX Contains Artificial Colours.

Wrigley Products not suitable for certain diets

Those which ARE NOT SUITABLE for those with a Halal diet:

Altoid Mints
Lockets: Cranberry & Blueberry
Tunes: Cherry

Doublemint 70 Mints in the bottle
Skittles: Wild Berry and Limited Edition  ‘Once in a Blue Moon’.
Previous formula of Skittles: Fruits, Wild Berry, Confused and Crazy Sours (Please be aware that there might still be product in the market that is not suitable though so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’ on packets of Fruits and Confused, as the previous formula packets will not have this on.)

Wrigley products which ARE NOT SUITABLE for those with a vegetarian diet:

Altoid Mints

Skittles Limited Edition ‘Once in a blue moon’

Previous formula of Skittles: Original Fruit, Wild Berry, Confused and Sours (Please be aware that there might still be products on the market that are not suitable, so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’)

Those which ARE NOT SUITABLE for those with a vegan diet:

Altoids Mints
Lockets Extra Strong, Honey & Lemon and Cranberry & Blueberry

Doublemint Mints (In a bag) (May Contain Milk)
Skittles Limited Edition ‘Once in a blue moon’

Previous formula of Skittles: Original Fruit, Wild Berry, Confused and Sours (Please be aware that there might still be product in the market that is not suitable though so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’)

 

Tags:

Category: Europe, Food Manufacturing, Halal Integrity, Research, Retail, UK

Leave a Reply