UK: Kingsmill gains Halal certification

Kingsmill has announced it has officially been certified by the Halal Food Authority as halal-compliant.

The majority of the brand’s products are suitable for vegetarians – with the exception of Kingsmill 50/50 with Omega 3, which contains fish-derived Omega 3 – and while they have always been suitable for a halal diet, the firm said it sought recognition to tie in with its packaging relaunch, announced last month.

This accreditation certifies that those Kingsmill bread and bakery goods with the Halal Food Authority logo are allowed under Islamic dietary guidelines, said the firm.

Guy Shepherd, category director at Allied Bakeries, said: “This demonstrates our dedication to catering to differing consumer needs. The accreditation means that it’s easy and simple for retailers and consumers to be confident that these products are suitable for a halal diet.”

There are a number of ingredients that may be found in bakery that are not halal. According to the Islamic Services of America, L-Cysteine is an amino acid used as a dough conditioner and is often sourced from duck feathers or human hair, although there are synthetic versions available. Shortenings, such as lard, may also be made from animal sources.